E Kanikapila Kakou 2015

32nd EKK Program Dates: January 19  –  March 23, 2015

This year the 32nd E Kanikapila Kakou program will focus on the weekly workshops that meet for three hours on Monday nights for ten weeks, from January 19 to March 23 at the Kauai Beach Resort Jasmine Ballroom in Wailua.

“Music Into the Community” – Dedicated to Uncle Dennis Kamakahi

Monday, January 19, 2015, 6 – 9 pm  (Week 1)

Kauai Ukulele Groups (Kalaheo & Kaumakani, Lihue, Kilauea, Hanalei)

Monday, January 26, 2015, 6 – 9 pm  (Week 2)

Kupaoa  (Lihau Hannahs & Kellen Paik) & Puakea Nogelmeier + Kumu Hula Frank Akima & Eleena Helenihi of Kananiokeakua School of Hula.

Monday, February 2, 2015, 6 – 9 pm  (Week 3)

Kenneth Makuakane & the Pandanus Club (Alden Kaiaokamalie, Rodney Lopez Jr.) + Kane Hula Dancers from Halau Ke Kai o Kahiki (O’Brien Eselu)

Monday, February 9, 2015, 6 – 9 pm (Week 4)

Beamers Aloha Music Camp Instructors (Calvin Hoe, Kaliko Beamer Trapp, Alan Akaka, Herb Ohta Jr, Uluwehi Guerrero, Kevin Brown, Jeff Peterson, Liko Puha, Konabob Stoeffer)

Monday, February 16, 2015, 6 – 9 pm (Week 5)

Mark Yamanaka, Bert K Naihe, Edward N Atkins.

Monday, February 23, 2015, 6 – 9 pm (Week 6)

“Tribute to Uncle Moe” (Walt Keale & Mike Keale)

Monday, March 2, 2015, 6 – 9 pm (Week 7)

“Music of Na Lani Eha” – Hawaiian Music Hall of Fame Serenaders (Kuuipo Kumukahi, Kimo Stone, Isaac Akuna, Joseph Winchester)

Monday, March 9, 2015, 6 – 9 pm (Week 8)

Waipuna (Kale Hannahs, Matthew Sproat, David Kamakahi)

Monday, March 16, 2015, 6 – 9 pm  (Week 9)

Aunty Noelani Mahoe and Kai’ola Farin + Guest Artist – Sean Robbins.

Monday, March 23, 2015, 6 – 9 pm (Week 10)

“One Big Community Hula Party.” Tamatea Nui O Kauai (Haunani Kaui, Wailana Dasalia, Piikea Matias, Anuhea Herrod, Tia Keawe, Rose Kurita) Malie Foundation (Lady Ipo & Uncle Nathan)